It’s my birthday today and I am sad because it would be the first day of thirties for me ..

First things first..I never liked my birthday.. somehow it always ended badly.. my parents like most of good parents celebrated it with unparalleled joy.. they had their share of happiness for their child and I had none..over the years they did their bit but it was ruined when left just to me..

I grew up to be an ugly teenager who suffered from borderline introvercy and that was enough to make the birthdays in my teens suck.. there were no outings with friends..no lavish parties..infact I was quite sure the whole concept was flawed and overhyped..it went just like this for many years but things changed around 11 years ago.

I met someone and fell in love..she had the same birthday..and for once I felt the joy on this date..not for me but for her.. for me it became the day I celebrated her and that gave me few great memories over the years.. but like all good things that had to pass too..

Having an affair in this country is scandalous but loving someone truly is a sin.. and over the years I have faced so much over this that I sit here alone in dark today.. saying goodbye to the twenties and welcoming the age of suffering..

I understand that time doesn’t stop for anyone and we are born to just watch it passing by..no matter what we do no matter who we are..we can’t control it and thus in our folly we celebrate it..just like the gods of ancient times..fire and rain and diseases..we couldn’t control them so we made festivals out of them..

What else is our birthday then.. just a mark..a blip in the tide of time that our end is closer and one day we wouldn’t wake up and there wouldn’t be a birthday ever to bother about. 

Leave a comment